Posted by: Tuhin | August 29, 2006

The ZAHIR

Paulo Coelho – The ZAHIR
….from the much-loved author of ‘The Alchemist’read_zahir4.jpg

Zahir – In arabic means, visible, present, incapable of going unnoticed. It is someone or something which, once we have come in contact with them or it, gradually occupies our every thought, until we can think of nothing else. This can be considered either a state of holiness or of madness.

A recommendation by a very good friend of mine, I started searching for this book in stores. I caught hold of it without too much sweat. Trust me since then I got so hooked to it, I just couldn’t put it down. The centrifugal point being Paulo himself, the centripetal point was Love. Not too many characters as usual. Many of his characters are abstract and he just loves to play with readers mind using that. I would be a fool to comment or criticise on his writings but I must say the examples and metaphors that he uses are really amusing and are so well incorporated. His plots are very intriguing which made me turn few more pages even though I was supposed to shut it at that instance.

This writer is one of those who doesn’t like to give direct gyaan to the readers. He doesn’t have any message to convey through his book. He just shares his experiences either by making a story around the happenings in his life or by publishing it in a raw state itself. Yes, there are things that you can learn from his novels, though he never force you to, but sometimes they are so subtle that not everyone can make out what exactly and how things are to be picked out from between the bunch of letters.

The story consist of Paulo himself, his wife, a catalyst (his wife’s intimate friend), his girlfriend, some supposting cast, some special appearances and LOVE. Its all about maturing in love, understanding the real meaning of it, differentiating between the purity and the madness, learning to let it go if it wants to or go to any extent to get it back…….well, in short, every aspect of love but its way beyond the immature love, infatuation, physical attraction, etc. At some point of time in any relationship one goes through a phase where he/she is taken for granted, he/she needs to make decisions about the relationship, gets confused etc. Well I can just go on…..but its better if you read it by yourself as what I was able to extract from ‘The Zahir’ will not necessary be the same that you would. Also I won’t be able to describe, rather justify my take from the book. It depends on perception and how you want it to relate. May be whatever I described, you wont find it at all while you read… Its just like you are been served 20 dishes to choose from. You may choose 1, you may choose 5, you may choose 10, 15 or even 20 or you wont eat at all, coz you din’t like any of them but the other person offered the same will have different picks.

I liked the name of one of the intrinsic character – ‘Mikhail’. Also I feel extreme affinity towards the profession of Paulo’s wife depicted in the book. Great description of the destination where the climax is. Urges me to visit that place once, just to find out if there is such a place for real. Nothing more should I reveal about ‘The Zahir’, might just spoil the fun. When this book was recommended I was told only half of the story, which turned out to be quite different as I went on turning the pages. Nothing is purrrfect!!!!! But I won’t mention the down points(almost negligible to me) as that would just kill the inquisitiveness.

Everyone will relate, if not all atleast few of the mentioned instances to their own life. The reader might feel, ‘this is exactly what has happened to me to’, ‘ohh!! me to should have done that’ etc. A must read for those who are in love, have been in love, trying to win their love, heart broken in love or with no love at all(hardly possible)…in short for all πŸ˜‰

Someday I will share with you all, about my experience of Zahir too…Yes, even I have been through it too πŸ™‚


Responses

  1. B E A U tiful! Simply superb! I’m looking forward to reading this book now. Hope to get my hands on it soon.

  2. iv gone 2ru dis…hapnz quite often…n nw dat uv tempted me soooooo mch,,wil defntly catch up wid dis book….cool Tuhin…uv mastered d skill of convincingly tempting ppl!!!

  3. Hey Shibani…T H A nk you…ya, do get ur hands on it soon…wel i gez u dnt hav 2 wait for long huh πŸ™‚

  4. hi dyna…thnx…yup its worth reading…wel i dnt think hv mastered tht skill as yet

  5. Good review. Seems like good book.

    Infact I had poor review before from a reader, but now I may try the book.

  6. JV – i gez i dnt hv 2 explain y u shd go 4 it…rite!!! chk it out…u wont b disappointed


Leave a Reply

Categories

